Artsy Fartsy

Arts & Crafts for the Urban Hipster

Quilting – the Next Big Thing? January 16, 2007

Filed under: Art — kellyrand @ 3:12 am

I don’t know about you but – I’ve been seeing more and more interest in fabric these days. Maybe I’m on to something or maybe I’m behind the times.

A friend just purchased this awesome looking patterns book by Amy Butler, called “In Stitches“. This book is fresh and hip – using amazingly modern fabrics that Butler has designed. It makes me want to dust off my sewing machine and give the projects a go. I am especially in love with the quilt designs.

Not too long ago another friend said that she was going to take up quilting. Hah! I thought, that’s a lot of time. She bought Denyse Schmidt’s book, “Denyse Schmidt Quilts, 30 Colorful Quilt and Patchwork Projects“. Again modern twist on an old theme.

Whip up also features a quilter of the week – amazing talent is always featured.

Well, whichever way this trend is going, really, in the end it will mean adding more to my craft stash. Sigh.

 

Leave a Reply

